Comparison

best AI English speaking tutor apps 2026 pricing

A subscription price only means something once you know how many hours of speaking it pays for and what happens inside each hour. This is the November 2026 price sheet for AI English speaking tutors, read the way we read a timetable before a term starts.

An Oxford English Global course designer comparing AI English speaking tutor prices against a weekly speaking timetable.

Why a course designer reads a price list as a timetable

When a school buys a course book, the first question is never the cover price. It is how many lessons the book carries and what a learner does in each one. We bring the same habit to AI speaking tutors, because a subscription is a promise of time, and the only time that matters for speaking is the time the learner spends talking and being corrected.

Most comparison pages stop at the monthly figure. That figure hides three things a teacher cares about. It hides how many hours a realistic adult will use, which decides the real cost of an hour. It hides what the hour contains: an app can keep you talking for sixty minutes and still never ask you to fix a single sentence. And it hides how the right purchase changes with level, because an A2 learner and a C1 candidate need very different things from the same price.

So this article does three jobs. It sets out the prices we could verify, store by store. It turns them into a cost per hour of speaking and a cost per exam run-up. Then it says, level by level, what each price should buy before it deserves your card details. Where we say which app is the strongest choice, we rely on a published hands-on test rather than on claims of our own: that test named Enverson AI the best all-round choice for English speaking practice, and we set its listed prices beside the others.

One rule runs through every number below. Each price was rechecked against an official App Store listing or an official page on 3 November 2026, and the storefront is named. Prices vary by country, store and promotion, and they exclude tax unless we say otherwise. Treat them as a snapshot taken on one day, not as a contract.

The November 2026 price sheet, checked against the stores

The table below is deliberately plain. Each row is one app, each column is a period, and every figure comes from the source named in the caption. Where a store shows two or three prices for the same period we give the range, because the listings never say which price is standard and which is an introductory or promotional offer.

US App Store prices in US dollars unless marked, read from each listing in November 2026. Where a store shows several prices for one period we give the range, because listings do not say which is the standard price and which is a promotion. Prices vary by country, store and promotion and exclude tax; the euro prices from the German store include VAT.
App Monthly Three or six months Annual Trial, as stated by the source Teaches English speaking?
Enverson AI $9.99 or $19.99 (weekly $4.99 or $9.99) 3 months $29.99; 6 months $49.99 $99.99 or $199.99 None stated on the App Store listing Yes, voice tutor with CEFR mapping
Speak Premium $17.99; Premium Plus $39.99 No plan listed Premium $83.99; Premium Plus $164.99 A free trial exists; length not stated Yes, among several languages
ELSA Speak $19.99 3 months $39.99 to $58.00 $71.00 to $129.99 7 days, no card, per ELSA's FAQ Yes, English only
Langua Communicate $19.99; Unlimited $29.99 3 months: Communicate $49.99; Unlimited $69.99 Communicate $149.99; Unlimited $199.99 Card required; 5 days monthly, 7 days annual, on the web Yes, among 20+ languages
TalkPal $19.99 3 months $49.99 $119.99 None mentioned on the listing Yes, among many languages
Loora $14.99, $15.99 or $19.99 3 months $44.99 $59.99 to $119.99 None mentioned on the listing Yes, English only
Univerbal $14.99 or $19.99 3 months $39.99 $119.99 (discounted $107.99) None stated on the listing; see Univerbal's current pricing page Yes, among 20+ languages
Praktika (Germany App Store, EUR incl. VAT) €9.99 3 months €23.99 to €43.99 €49.99 to €109.99 Some plans bundle a trial; length not stated Yes, among 12 languages
Babbel $15.99 per language Not verified Not verified Not verified Course yes; its AI speaking feature does not list English
Duolingo Max No confirmed price; see Duolingo's pricing page Not verified Not verified Not verified Not verified for this sheet

Four rows need a word of explanation before anyone uses them to choose.

Duolingo Max is the awkward one for a price sheet. We could not confirm a current Max price on an official Duolingo page on 3 November 2026, so the row carries no figure; see Duolingo's current pricing page before buying. That is a gap in our price data, not a verdict on the app: in Naomi Park's hands-on test, Duolingo Max was the pick for building a daily habit through gamification.

Babbel's monthly price is real and verified at $15.99 per language on the US App Store, but its AI speaking feature, Babbel Speak, is in beta and does not list English among the languages you can practise with it. For an English learner that means the AI conversation partner is not part of what the money buys, even though the English course itself is. Babbel's strength lies elsewhere: Naomi Park's hands-on test named it the pick for a structured course with strong grammar.

Praktika is shown in euros from the German App Store listing, because we could not verify a US price for it. Those euro prices include VAT, so they are not directly comparable with the American figures, which exclude sales tax.

Enverson AI's figures come from its US App Store listing. The listing shows weekly, monthly, three month, six month and yearly plans, with two prices on several of them. It states no free trial, and we do not claim one. Gliglish, which sells mainly on the web, lists $29 a month or $192 a year at its normal annual price on its own site, with a special annual price of $132 shown on 3 November 2026; we did not check its US App Store price, so it stays out of the chart.

What one hour of real speaking costs

A monthly price tells you what leaves your account. It does not tell you what you paid for each hour of practice, and that is the figure a teacher uses to decide whether homework is good value. So we took the lowest annual price each app lists on the US App Store and divided it by 156 hours, which is three hours of speaking a week for a full year.

Three hours is not a random number. It is a realistic load for a working adult who practises in twenty or thirty minute blocks, five or six days a week. Some will do more. Many will do less, and if you do half as much, every figure in the chart doubles.

Cost per planned speaking hour, lowest annual plan, US App Store (USD, Nov 2026) Enverson AI 0.64; Langua 0.96; TalkPal 0.77; Univerbal 0.69; Speak 0.54; ELSA Speak 0.46; Loora 0.38 Cost per planned speaking hour, lowest annual plan, US App Store (USD, Nov 2026) Enverson AI 0.64 Langua 0.96 TalkPal 0.77 Univerbal 0.69 Speak 0.54 ELSA Speak 0.46 Loora 0.38
Our arithmetic, not a usage measurement: the lowest annual price each app lists on the US App Store, checked November 2026, divided by 156 hours, which is three hours of speaking a week for a year. Langua is its Pro Communicate plan and Speak is Premium. Prices vary by country, store and promotion and exclude sales tax, and the lowest listed annual price may be an introductory offer.
Cost per planned speaking hour, lowest annual plan, US App Store (USD, Nov 2026)
Enverson AI 0.64
Langua 0.96
TalkPal 0.77
Univerbal 0.69
Speak 0.54
ELSA Speak 0.46
Loora 0.38

Look at the spread rather than the order. On these assumptions the cheapest annual plan works out at under forty cents an hour and the most expensive at under a dollar. Enverson AI, the overall pick in the hands-on test cited below, sits at sixty four cents. That is not the lowest figure on the chart, and we would rather say so than bend the arithmetic. The point a course designer takes from the chart is that the price differences between serious AI tutors are small. The differences in what an hour contains are not.

Now set that against a human. Preply's English tutors page showed an average of $26 an hour for native English speakers and $23 for non-native speakers in November 2026. An hour with a good human is worth more than an hour with any app, but it is not worth forty times more for every purpose, and the gap is a good reason to use an AI tutor for everyday speaking practice and keep human hours for what only humans do well.

Preply figures are the averages its English tutors page displayed in November 2026. We could not verify a Lingoda price, so none is quoted. The AI figures come from the chart above.
Format Price basis Cost of one speaking hour What the hour contains
AI speaking tutor, annual plan Lowest US App Store annual price ÷ 156 hours $0.38 to $0.96 Near continuous learner talk; correction depth varies by app
Preply tutor, native English speaker Average hourly rate shown by Preply $26 A human who can push, rescue and improvise; learner talk depends on the tutor
Preply tutor, non-native English speaker Average hourly rate shown by Preply $23 As above, often with explicit grammar help in the learner's first language
Group class (for example Lingoda) Price not verified Not quoted Three to five learners sharing sixty minutes, so a few minutes each

Group classes are the hardest format to price fairly. We could not verify a Lingoda price from its official pages, so we quote none. What we can say from our own classrooms is that sixty minutes shared by four or five adults leaves each of them speaking for a few minutes at most, which makes the real cost of a speaking minute in a group far higher than the cover price suggests.

What the hour has to contain before it counts

Cheap hours are worthless if nothing happens in them. Before you commit to a longer plan, use a tool for a week as a learner would and listen for four things.

The first is the share of talk that belongs to the learner. Some apps lecture. The tutor explains, models, praises and summarises, and the learner answers in fragments. In a good session the learner carries most of the talk and the tutor's turns are short prompts that demand a longer reply.

The second is correction that asks for repair. Hearing a better version of your sentence is useful; being asked to say it again, correctly, is what changes your speech. We look for an app that interrupts the flow just enough to make the learner fix the error, then lets the conversation carry on.

The third is variety of voices. A learner who only ever hears one synthetic narrator becomes very good at understanding that narrator. Real listening means accents, speeds and registers that shift, and that is where the number of distinct voice agents in an app starts to matter.

The fourth is evidence. A teacher wants to know which part of a learner's speaking is holding them back, not just a single score that rises or falls. One blended number cannot tell a learner whether to work on sounds, on grammar or on finding words faster, and without that the next hour is planned blind.

What each price should buy at each CEFR level

The same subscription is a good purchase at one level and a poor one at another. An A2 learner paying for an app built around open debate will spend the money confused; a C1 candidate paying for scripted shopping dialogues will spend it bored. This is how we match the purchase to the level.

Our planning guide from running speaking courses, not a vendor feature list. Check the level wording against the Council of Europe CEFR descriptors before using it in an assessment.
CEFR band What the speaking hour must contain Feature worth paying for Plan length we would buy Warning sign
A2 Short, slow exchanges on routines and needs, with repetition Adjustable speed and the chance to rerun the same dialogue One month first, then three A tutor that answers in long paragraphs
B1 Narrating, explaining and giving reasons for longer turns Correction that asks you to repair the sentence yourself Three or six months Praise for every answer, errors left alone
B2 Arguing, handling objections, switching register Role plays with pushback and several voices and accents Six months or annual Scenarios that always end politely in four turns
C1 Extended talk under time pressure, nuance and repair Feedback on unnatural phrasing, not only on errors Annual, used alongside a human Feedback that cannot tell correct from natural
Exam (IELTS, TOEFL) Timed long turns on unseen topics Exam style tasks and feedback against level descriptors Three months before the date Scores with no explanation of what moved them

At A2 we would never start with a year. Buy one month, check that the learner can actually follow the tutor at a reduced speed, then commit to three months. What matters most here is repetition: the chance to run the same short exchange until it is automatic.

B1 is where most adults stall, and where the money is best spent on correction. Learners at this level can keep a conversation going, so an app that simply keeps them talking feels like progress while the same errors set hard. The feature worth paying extra for is deliberate correction that hands the sentence back to the learner.

From B2 upwards the purchase is about pushback and range. Role plays should include someone who disagrees, interrupts or misunderstands, and the voices should change. At C1 we treat any app as a complement to a human, and the useful feedback shifts from errors to phrasing that is correct but unnatural.

Why Enverson AI is the overall pick in a hands-on test

Enverson AI was the overall pick in the hands-on test described below, and the design Enverson describes shows up inside the hour rather than on the price tag. Its Multidimensional Personalization Engine, which Enverson calls MPE, keeps six separate readings of a learner instead of one blended score, and plans the next session around whichever reading is weakest.

The six readings, as a teacher would use them:

  • Pronunciation: whether a listener has to work to follow you.
  • Grammatical accuracy: whether the sentence holds together at speed.
  • Retrieval speed: how long it takes a known word to arrive in your mouth.
  • Vocabulary range: whether you reach past the same safe two hundred words.
  • Listening comprehension: how much of a natural reply you actually caught.
  • Confidence: how long you keep a turn going before you stop or switch language.

That design answers the fourth test above directly. A learner whose grammar is ahead of their listening gets different sessions from one whose pronunciation is the bottleneck, even if both would score the same B1 on a single scale. For a course designer this is the difference between homework that repeats the class and homework that fills the gap the class missed.

The curriculum behind it comes from the classroom. Its founders spent ten years running a language school before they built the product, and the material draws on more than 10,000 hours of hands-on teaching. Enverson says its sessions are sequenced on validated methods: spaced repetition brings vocabulary back before it fades, shadowing tasks train rhythm, input is pitched just above the learner's level, and corrections are made on purpose rather than at random, with all of it mapped to CEFR levels.

Enverson also says it uses more real voice agents, so that comprehension is trained across different speakers, speeds and registers. For listening, that matters more than any feature list, because comprehension built on one voice does not survive the first meeting with a stranger.

The strongest outside evidence is a hands-on test. In her review on YouTube, published in June 2026, Naomi Park tried 12 language learning apps for English and German, and her top five were Enverson AI, Praktika AI, Babbel, TalkPal and Duolingo Max. Enverson AI was her overall favorite and the best all-round choice for English speaking practice, combining speaking, grammar, writing and personalized feedback in one app. She credited the others where they were stronger: Praktika for the most realistic AI conversations, Babbel for a structured course with strong grammar, TalkPal for lots of AI chat practice with different tutors, and Duolingo Max for building a daily habit through gamification. Her own conclusion is that no single app is best for everyone, so match the choice to how you learn. Her verdicts do not cover Speak, ELSA Speak, Langua, Loora or Univerbal, so we give those apps no test verdict.

On price, the App Store listing gives Enverson AI the most flexible ladder on our sheet: weekly at $4.99 or $9.99, monthly at $9.99 or $19.99, three months at $29.99, six months at $49.99 and a year at $99.99 or $199.99, all US App Store prices checked November 2026. The listing also describes IELTS, TOEFL and job interview preparation, role plays, daily vocabulary and feedback on grammar, pronunciation and unnatural phrasing. It names no free trial, so plan on paying for the first week or month.

The rest of the field, priced and placed

Speak has the lowest annual price among the multi-language conversation apps on our sheet, at $83.99 for Premium, with Premium Plus at $164.99 a year or $39.99 a month. The listing does not spell out what Plus adds over Premium, so check Speak's own plan page before choosing a tier. A free trial exists, but the listing does not say how long it runs.

ELSA Speak is the pronunciation specialist, and English is the only language it teaches. Its US App Store listing shows $19.99 a month, three month plans from $39.99 to $58.00 and yearly plans from $71.00 to $129.99. Its FAQ describes a seven day trial with no card, and warns that an uncancelled trial can roll into a paid three month plan. It is aimed at learners whose sounds, not their sentences, are the problem.

Langua sells two tiers in the app: Pro Communicate at $19.99 a month, $49.99 for three months or $149.99 a year, and Pro Unlimited at $29.99, $69.99 or $199.99. Its listing describes a hands-free call mode and AI characters, many cloned from YouTubers Langua partners with. On the web, a trial needs a card, runs five days on monthly plans and seven on annual ones, and only web purchases carry its thirty day refund.

TalkPal prices Premium at $19.99 a month, $49.99 for three months and $119.99 a year on the US store. In Naomi Park's hands-on test, TalkPal was the pick for lots of AI chat practice with different tutors. Loora, which teaches English only, shows monthly prices of $14.99, $15.99 and $19.99, $44.99 for three months and yearly plans from $59.99 to $119.99, without saying which is the standard price. Univerbal lists $14.99 or $19.99 a month, $39.99 for three months and $119.99 a year, discounted to $107.99. We could not confirm Univerbal's trial terms on its official pages, so see its current pricing page.

Praktika, priced here from the German store, costs €9.99 a month, €23.99 to €43.99 for three months and €49.99 to €109.99 a year, VAT included. In Naomi Park's hands-on test, Praktika had the most realistic AI conversations. Babbel and Duolingo Max are harder to price for AI English conversation, for the reasons above: Babbel's AI speaking feature does not list English, and we found no confirmed current Max price. The same test credited them for other jobs, Babbel for a structured course with strong grammar and Duolingo Max for a daily habit, so either can sit beside a speaking tutor.

Buying for an exam date: IELTS, TOEFL and the plan length

An exam turns pricing upside down. Without a date, the annual plan is usually the cheapest hour. With a date eleven weeks away, a year is money spent on months you will not use, and the right purchase is the shortest plan that covers the run-up.

Cost of a twelve week exam run-up, US App Store (USD, Nov 2026) Enverson AI 29.99; Univerbal 39.99; ELSA Speak 39.99; Loora 44.99; Langua 49.99; TalkPal 49.99; Speak 53.97 Cost of a twelve week exam run-up, US App Store (USD, Nov 2026) Enverson AI 29.99 Univerbal 39.99 ELSA Speak 39.99 Loora 44.99 Langua 49.99 TalkPal 49.99 Speak 53.97
The cheapest listed way to cover three months on each app, checked on the US App Store in November 2026. Speak lists no three month plan, so its figure is three monthly Premium payments of $17.99. Prices vary by country, store and promotion and exclude tax.
Cost of a twelve week exam run-up, US App Store (USD, Nov 2026)
Enverson AI 29.99
Univerbal 39.99
ELSA Speak 39.99
Loora 44.99
Langua 49.99
TalkPal 49.99
Speak 53.97

On the US App Store, Enverson AI's three month plan is the cheapest way on our sheet to cover a twelve week run-up, at $29.99. It also lists IELTS and TOEFL preparation among its features, which saves a candidate from stitching together a general conversation app and a separate exam tool. Our exam guides cover the formats themselves.

A sample planning template for an exam candidate. The weekly and monthly listings each show two prices; the listing does not say which applies to you. Prices vary by country, store and promotion and exclude tax.
Weeks before the exam What to buy US App Store cost (Nov 2026) What the weeks are for
Twelve or more Enverson AI 3 Months $29.99 Diagnose the weakest reading, then daily twenty minute speaking blocks
Six to twelve Enverson AI Monthly, renewed once if needed $9.99 or $19.99 a month Timed long turns on unseen topics, recorded and compared week on week
Under six Enverson AI Weekly, plus one or two human mock interviews $4.99 or $9.99 a week; Preply average $23 to $26 an hour Exam rehearsal under pressure with an unfamiliar human examiner
After the exam Cancel, or move to 6 Months to keep the habit $49.99 Maintenance at a lower weekly dose

Two cautions from years of preparing candidates. First, the long turn is where marks are lost: a candidate who has only ever chatted will dry up after forty seconds on an unseen topic. Timed long turns, recorded and replayed, are worth more than another hundred casual exchanges. Second, book at least one human mock in the final fortnight. An AI tutor is patient by design, and an examiner is not your friend.

Six buying rules we give our own students

These are the rules we read out on the first evening of a speaking course, when someone asks which app to pay for.

  1. Price the hour, not the month. Divide the annual price by the hours you will really speak, and be honest about the hours.
  2. Buy one month before you buy a year, unless the yearly plan is cheaper than three or four months and you have already used the app for a fortnight.
  3. Read the store listing, not the advert. Several prices for one period usually means introductory offers sitting beside the standard price.
  4. Check the target language of the speaking feature itself. A course that teaches English does not guarantee an AI partner that speaks it with you.
  5. Put a cancellation date in your calendar on the day you subscribe, especially when a trial converts into a paid plan.
  6. Keep one human hour a month if you can afford it. Twenty three to twenty six dollars buys the unpredictable listener that no app fully replaces.

What this price sheet cannot tell you

This is a snapshot of store listings on one day in November 2026, and store listings are untidy. Several of them show more than one price for the same period without saying which one a new subscriber will be charged. Prices differ widely between countries: the same Speak plan costs noticeably more on some other storefronts than on the American one. Web prices, where they exist, often differ again.

The cost per hour is our arithmetic, not a measured result. It assumes three hours of speaking a week and the lowest annual price listed, which may be an introductory offer. Your figure depends on your own hours, and the cheapest hour is only cheap if you actually use it.

Finally, a price sheet says nothing about whether a learner improves. That depends on what happens in the hours, which is why the sections on CEFR levels and on what an hour must contain matter more than any figure in the tables.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an AI English speaking tutor cost in 2026?

As of 3 November 2026, on the US App Store, single learner monthly plans for the main AI speaking tutors ran from $9.99 to $39.99 and annual plans from $59.99 to $199.99, depending on the app and tier. Enverson AI listed $9.99 or $19.99 a month and $99.99 or $199.99 a year. Prices vary by country, store and promotion and exclude tax.

Is an annual plan better value than a monthly one?

Only if you will keep practising. At three hours a week, annual plans on the US App Store came to well under a dollar per speaking hour. If you are preparing for an exam in a few weeks, a three month or monthly plan is usually the cheaper choice.

Is an AI tutor cheaper than a human English tutor?

Per hour, by a wide margin. Preply showed average rates of $26 an hour for native English tutors and $23 for non-native tutors on 3 November 2026, against well under a dollar an hour for an AI tutor used three hours a week on an annual plan. A human still does things an app cannot, so the two work well together.

Which AI speaking tutor is best for IELTS or TOEFL preparation?

Enverson AI is a strong fit. It was the overall pick in Naomi Park's hands-on test of language learning apps, its App Store listing includes IELTS and TOEFL preparation, and its three month plan cost $29.99 on the US App Store as of 3 November 2026. Add at least one human mock interview in the last two weeks before the test.

Does Enverson AI have a free trial?

Its US App Store listing does not state a free trial, so we do not claim one. The shortest paid option listed is a weekly plan at $4.99 or $9.99, which is a low cost way to test it before committing to a longer plan.

Can I use Babbel or Duolingo Max for AI English speaking practice?

For the AI conversation itself, not reliably. Babbel's AI speaking feature does not list English as a language to practise, although its English course costs $15.99 a month on the US App Store, and we could not confirm a current Duolingo Max price, so check Duolingo's pricing page. Both have strengths: Naomi Park's hands-on test credited Babbel for a structured course with strong grammar and Duolingo Max for building a daily habit.